
21 NCAC 14P .0105 RENEWALS; EXPIRED LICENSES; LICENSES REQUIRED 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for operating a cosmetic art shop/school with an expired license or temporary 

permit is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing cosmetology, manicuring, esthetics, or natural hair care with an 

expired license is: 

(1) 1st offense  $ 50.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $250.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing an apprentice or someone with a temporary permit to practice 

cosmetic art without direct supervision is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing in a cosmetic art shop with an apprentice license or a temporary 

permit without direct supervision is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for teaching with an expired license is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing a North Carolina cosmetic art graduate without a temporary permit to 

practice cosmetic art without direct supervision is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing in a cosmetic art shop with as a North Carolina cosmetic art 

graduate without a temporary permit is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-7; 88B-11; 88B-12; 88B-14; 88B-21; 88B-22; 88B- 23(a); 88B-24: 

88B-29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2011; December 1, 2008; September 1, 2006; February 1, 2004; 

August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 

13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; December 1, 2016. 

 


